Some anticipations for 2017 that are in no particular order.

image

Hey there I’m back! And so soon after the last post, I know it’s shocking. But really I thought it would be fun to discuss some upcoming movies for 2017 that I think look promising! This is really just a quick little post so I’m going to try to keep my descriptions brief for each film. Anyway, let’s get to it!

get-out

12. Get Out (February 24)

The trailer for this one dropped in October 2016 sometime I think, and it seemed way to early to release a trailer for a movie not coming until February of 2017. But putting that aside, I’m just as excited for this as I was when I first saw the trailer. I’m really hoping this is as good as I want it to be in my head, it’s a hard thing to live up to and it rarely is something that happens, but I’m holding out for this one because it looks chilling and just like it’s madness.

95177c005f4419b9786b61600f5d0001

11. Song to Song (March 17)

Originally titled Weightless, this is Terrence Malick’s newest film and I would be lying if I didn’t say that part of the charm for me was the insane cast because good god it’s big. You have Ryan Gosling, Natalie Portman, Michael Fassbender, Rooney Mara, Christian Bale, Cate Blanchett, Trevante Rhodes (from Moonlight), Benicio Del Toro, Holly Hunter and not to mention a bunch of musical artists. All I really know about this one is that it’s about the music scene in Austin, Texas and there’s some love triangle. I’m expecting numerous monologues set over beautiful cinematography of people walking around sadly and that’s exactly what I want from Terrence Malick.

la-maolsen-1484789095-snap-photo

10. The Little Hours (TBD)

Aubrey Plaza and Molly Shannon as nuns, I’m already in. This is one of many films that premiered at Sundance just recently and this is one of a few that I gravitated towards. From what I’ve read it got some pretty good reviews and is supposed to be a good time. Like Song to Song, the cast in this one is also really great and I’m ready for Aubrey Plaza to yell at a mute Dave Franco.

cure-for-wellness-movie-image-dane-dehaan-8

9. A Cure for Wellness (February 17)

This looks like Shutter Island on crack and I’m all for it. I’m still a little bit skeptical because we have a director who is subpar at best (most well known for the Pirates of the Caribbean movies so that should give you a clue right there), but I’m trying to be positive and hope for the best because the visuals in the trailer alone are outstanding. Like I said before, this looks like Shutter Island on crack plus a little Clockwork Orange and One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest mixed in there, so let’s just hope that it lives up to the beautifully haunting trailers.

battle-of-the-sexes-emma-stone-steve-carell

8. Battle of the Sexes (TBD)

I am sold on this solely because of Emma Stone playing Billie Jean King, also I’m kind of a sucker for tennis movies for some reason. I’m not always the biggest fan of bio pics especially because they can turn out to be so by the numbers sometimes and just restating information we already know with A-list actors. It’s the ones that are unique and have a different perspective or try something new that stick out to me. So I’m hoping with Battle of the Sexes we get something good, even if Steve Carell seems a tad miscast as Bobby Riggs.

019548

7. The Discovery (March 31)

A movie about the science of the afterlife and people dying all over the place featuring Rooney Mara and Jason Segel? Yep, I’m in. I know it seems like all these movies I’m just excited for them because of who is going to be in them and that might be a little true but really The Discovery looks profoundly interesting. Like the case for some of the films being released later on in the year, there isn’t a whole lot to know about the film other than a brief synopsis on IMDb. But I really like not knowing much because it gives me a chance to go into it kind of blind.

call-me-by-your-name

6. Call Me By Your Name (TBD)

This is that one film that I’ve heard non stop about that was at Sundance this year. People are calling it amazing and a fantastic addition to the LGBT film history or the next Carol. I Am Love was my favorite movie of 2009 and one of my all time favorites so when I discovered that Luca Guadagnino was the director it made me even more excited. Everyone is saying it could get a summer release because it’s set in Italy in the summertime but people are also saying around November or December so it can get a slot in the Oscars. Whatever the date may be, Call Me By Your Name seems like a promising one.

pennywise-it-traje

5. It (September 8)

Usually I’m not a fan or remakes, as many know, but with It the case is different. Since the original overly long (it’s over 3 hours and just insanely slow), adaptation from the Stephen King novel wasn’t very good in the first place I’m hoping that this second go at it is a more successful one. Because really after all, the story of It and Pennywise is kind of freaky and could make for a good addition to the horror catalogue.

lastjedi2

4. Star Wars: Episode VIII – The Last Jedi (December 15)

A remake and a sequel in the same list? This has to be a record for me. Yes it’s true, ever since the 2015 release of The Force Awakens I’ve kind of been interested in these newer Star Wars movies, especially knowing that they’ll actually be good movies. It will be a bittersweet affair knowing that this is Carrie Fisher’s final film (RIP), and that we won’t get anymore Leia after this. It’ll be truly interesting where they’ll go next with the series and how they’ll continue it.

tc_still-00087597_rcr

3. The Circle (April 28)

What really peaked my interest about this one is the fact that it looks like an extra long episode of Black Mirror. It looks dark and is has bad technology, which is always fun! Also, man if both of the movies turn out good, 2017 will be a good year for Emma Watson.

A Ghost Story - Still 3

2. A Ghost Story (TBD)

I do realize that this is the third movie with Rooney Mara on the list and you know what? I’m not even going to apologize for it! Not my fault if she’s choosing good projects! Anyway, this film reunites Rooney Mara and Casey Affleck (previously in Ain’t Them Bodies Saints), and it’s another that came to have pretty great reviews at Sundance. It doesn’t seem like the most complex of stories, but I don’t think it’s supposed to be and I’m all for it.

7f60b225a4049964c5a342bd05d61b7a

1. Beauty and the Beast (March 16)

I’m really breaking new ground on this post because as people who have read my past posts, I’m not the biggest fan of these live action Disney remakes. I don’t know what it is though, I am filled with excitement for this one. Maybe it’s because I grew up with the original film and it was always one of my favorites so to see it brought to life on screen really brings me joy. All I have to say is that to anyone that has really loved the live action Disney remakes, I kind of understand now.

 

So here’s to hoping that the films of 2017 will be great and not as subpar as a lot of the 2016 anticipated releases were. There are many that I’m sure I have left out and as always there are a handful of movies that we don’t even know about yet. Thanks for reading and have a good rest of the week!

Leave a Reply

